Welcome to the Official Website of Department of Elections - Sri Lanka - - - -
parliamentary election 2015

The Department of Elections was created on October 01, 1955, amalgamating the then existing two Departments of Parliamentary Elections and Local Body Elections.

The Vision of the Department is to protect democracy in the country; it is achieved by conducting free and fair elections and referenda.

The Department functioned as an independent Government Department not coming under any Minister. The Commissioner was answerable only to the Parliament.

In October 2001, the Seventeenth Amendment to the Constitution was enacted to provide for an Election Commission appointed by the President on the recommendations of the Constitutional Council.

The Election Commission was not appointed as envisaged and the incumbent Commissioner of Elections Continued to function in the post until September 2010 when the Eighteenth Amendment to the Constitution was passed.

The Eighteenth Amendment provided for the President to appoint a person holding office as an Additional Commissioner of Elections or Deputy Commissioner of Elections to discharge the functions conferred on the Election Commission.

  You can use following link for details of Parliamentary Election - 2015


Number of of MPs By Each District

Reservation of Circuit Bangalow

Census of Staff - 2014


***The Department does not analyse the statistics relating to the results of any election nor does it compare the results of an election with regard to any political party, independent group or candidate. The department merely publishes the results of an election.


Department of Elections, Elections Secratariat, Sarana Mawatha, Rajagiriya, Sri Jayawardenapura, Sri Lanka.

Welcome to the Official Website of Department of Elections - Sri Lanka
© Department of Elections. All Rights Reserved 2014----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Updated on 19.08.2015
Free Counter
Free Counter